Day 2

01/15/2013 07:11

Scripture: Luke 1:37-38  For with God nothing will be impossible.  Then Mary said, "Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word." And the angel of departed from her.

So let's just start with that first verse which affirms for me that God can do anything, even in my life.  I sometimes take control (I know you are shocked by that) and decide when and what and where.  But really, am I relying on God to do those things that are impossible?

But Mary's response is what I was really taken back by in this reading.  So often we question God and his plan.  But no where did Mary do that (except to wonder how this would come to pass).   She did say: Oh I'm going to be too busy over the next nine months, or Don't you think so-and-so down the road would be better suited, or I'm just not sure I'm the kind of person who could do this.  She says: LET IT BE TO ME ACCORDING TO YOUR WORD.  See God has the plan, and he knows the outcome and sometimes he just wants us to LET IT BE.  Maybe that is what I was most humbled by as I did this reading.  Mary's entire life would be changing including the way people would treat her forever.  But she was faithful and trusting in God enough to say, "Let it be."  A good lesson for me to learn.